Despite the fact that we all use bank accounts and bank transfers regularly, it is something that a lot of people don’t actually know much about. Bank accounts and online banking have come a long way in recent years, and with this, a lot of additional confusion has been added to the situation. But, there are still a lot of things that people don’t really understand about traditional banking, too.
For example, a lot of people do not know what happens if you send money to a closed account. In this guide, we’ll be taking a look at what happens if you send money to a closed account, and lots of other essential information you should know surrounding this.
There is a lot of uncertainty surrounding what happens if you send money to a closed account. With so many banks around, this has become a very common mistake. So what happens if you send money to a closed account by mistake?
A lot of people believe that the money that you send to a closed account will go missing. Some people think that it will enter the closed account and be gone forever, while others think that the bank takes the money off of you. However, in reality, neither of these scenarios are true.
If you really think about it, then you will realize that both of these scenarios could never be true. If the money were to disappear, or the bank were to keep the money, then this would essentially be theft. This is why any money that is sent to a closed account simply bounces back to the sender.
If you are struggling to understand how this works, think about your emails. If you email an address whose inbox is full, or the address does not exist, then the email will bounce straight back to you. The same thing will happen if you try to send money to an account which has been closed.
As you probably expect, no, money cannot enter a closed account. Whether a payment is made from a personal account or a business account, that transaction will bounce back to the sender if the account has been closed.
That money will not enter the account that has been closed, because there is essentially no account for it to enter.
However, there have been some occasions where money has been allowed to enter a closed account. When this has happened, it has usually been a clerical error, and the mistake has been corrected as soon as it has been observed.
There is also a small chance that any payments sent to an account on the day that it is being closed may enter the account. This is very rare, but there have been occasions when this happened.
When an account is being closed, then the money in that account must be moved elsewhere. So, if the payment clears before the account is officially closed, then your money may not bounce back.
If you have accidentally sent money to a closed account, then you will probably be eager to get that money back as soon as possible.
The limits on the amount of cash that you can transfer to another account are very high, so you could be out of pocket a lot of money if the account has been closed, and you had not realized.
So, it is understandable that you will want to know when that money will come back to you.
While, lots of outgoing payments will be taken from your account and delivered to the payee almost immediately. As you already know, a lot of time when payments are coming back to you, there will be a delay.
There is no solid explanation as to why this happens, but it is generally assumed that it is due to the necessary admin to reroute payments.
Due to this, money does not immediately ‘bounce back’ into your account when you send it to an account that has been closed. Instead, it will take at least a couple of days for the money to re-enter your account.
It will usually take between 1-10 working days for the money to bounce back into your account once it has been sent to an account that has closed.
In short, when you send money to a closed account, this money will not simply disappear, instead it will bounce back into your account. It will usually take between 1 and 10 working days for this money to be returned to you, but it will always be returned to your account.